T20 WC: The India team will return empty-handed, the dream of winning T20 WC broken, out of the tournament

History highlights

  • Indian team out of the T20 World Cup
  • Has not won T20 WC since 2007
  • Kohli’s last T20 tournament as captain

WC T20Team India’s dream of winning the 2021 T20 World Cup has been shattered. New Zealand defeated Afghanistan in a crucial match on Sunday, making New Zealand the fourth team to reach the semi-finals. If Afghanistan had won in this match, then there might have been an opportunity for the India team.

But now the journey of the Indian team ended in this World Cup and the game against Namibia that will be played on Monday is now just a formality. Now there will be a war between Australia-Pakistan, New Zealand-England in the semifinals of the T20 World Cup.

Click: T20 WC: New Zealand reaches the semi-finals, Afghanistan could not take the pressure

This World Cup was a nightmare for the India team

When the T20 World Cup began immediately after the IPL, the Indian team was seen as a contender to win it. Because the Indian players were in the UAE for a long time, apart from this, there was a great game in the practice match. However, when the tournament started, the whole game turned upside down. The Indian team lost their first match against Pakistan. This was India’s first defeat to Pakistan at any World Cup.

Pakistan defeated team India by 10 wickets, then in the next match New Zealand also defeated by 8 wickets. With two major defeats, Team India’s survival crisis in the tournament continued. However, the Indian team came back and defeated Scotland, Afghanistan by a large margin. But by then it was too late.

India’s journey in the 2021 T20 World Cup:

Pakistan won by 10 wickets
New Zealand won by 8 wickets
beat Afghanistan by 66 runs
beat Scotland by 8 wickets

Waiting for the first World Cup trophy

When the T20 World Cup started in 2007, the Indian team became its first champion. Shortly after, when the IPL began, it seemed that the Indian team would dominate this format. But since 2007, the Indian team has yet to win the T20 World Cup again and this time this opportunity has also been missed.

The Indian team became champion in 2007, runner-up in 2014 and reached the semi-finals in 2016. This time, the Indian team has not even reached the semi-finals. Team India won the 2007 World Cup under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, MS Dhoni partnered with Team India as a mentor in the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Captain Virat Kohli will return without a trophy

This was Virat Kohli’s last tournament as captain in the T20 format. Even before the start of this World Cup, Virat Kohli had announced that he would leave the captaincy of the Indian team in the T20 format. Now that it has been decided that India is not reaching the semi-finals, then against Namibia, Virat Kohli will be seen captaining the Indian team for the last time in the T20 format.

Under Virat Kohli’s captaincy, the Indian team has not won any ICC tournaments. Now a new white ball format captain can be found shortly after the World Cup.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *