Where are the winners from the past seasons now? From Abhijeet Sawant, Sreeram Chandra to LV Revanth, see what’s going on with them!

Meet past champions as we await the announcement of the winner of Indian Idol # 12 tonight (Photo credit: Instagram)

Sony TV’s popular singing reality show Indian Idol 12 is coming to an end at midnight today. A 12-hour long grand finale dubbed the ‘Best Ending of All Time’, the celebration is currently underway. While fans are eager to know who among Pawandeep Rajan, Shanmukha Priya, Mohd Danish, Sayli Kamble, Arunita Kanjilal and Nihal Tauro will lift the trophy, we take you back in time to meet the previous winners.

Started in India in 2004, the reality show has consisted of 12 seasons (including the one in progress). While 10 of these featured singers over the age of 18, the rest – Season 7 and 8 – saw young singing talents wowed judges and audiences across the country.

As we are less than 12 hours away from knowing who will pick up the Indian Idol 12 trophy, here’s a look at the previous winners and what they are up to now.

Abhijeet sawant

Abhijeet Sawant won the first season of Indian Idol. Post that, he released his first solo album Aapka Abhijeet Sawant in 2005. Since then, he has lent his voice to several Bollywood songs, including Mar Jaavan Mit Jaavan (Aashiq Banaya Aapne), Happy Ending (Tees Maar Khan), Sau Tarah Ke Revisited & Ishqa (Dishoom) and more. Abhijeet has also been a part of other reality shows such as Star Plus’ Jo Jeeta Wohi Superstar (finalist), Indian Idol 5 (host), Nach Baliye (Season 4), and more.

Sandeep acharya

Sandeep Acharya took home the trophy in 2006, becoming the second Indian Idol. After winning the show, he landed a $ 1 crore deal from Sony BMG, a music album deal, and a new Maruti Baleno car. He also participated in Jalwa Four 2 Ka 1 and appeared on the Sony TV show Kause Ye Pyar Hai. Sadly, Acharya died on December 15, 2013.

Prashant Tamang

Prashant Tamang was declared the winner of Indian Idol in 2007. After winning the show, Tamang released his first album Dhanyavad (Thank You), consisting of songs in Nepali and Hindi, with Sony BMG. Besides touring the world, he also lent his voice for some Nepalese films starting with Himmat 2. In 2009, Tamang began acting in Nepalese films, and his filmography includes Gorkha Paltan (2010), Angalo Yo Maya Ko (2011), Kina Maya Ma (2011), Nishani (2014) and more.

Sourabhee Debbarma

Sourabhee Debbarma became the first woman to win the Indian Idol title in 2009. After that, she broke the Guinness World Record by attempting to sing a song while hanging upside down. She won it by breaking New Zealand’s Rebecca Wright’s record (she sang backwards for 3 minutes and 53 seconds). Sourabhee sang backwards for 4 minutes and 30 seconds. She has also been seen performing in India and abroad.

Sreeram chandra

After winning Indian Idol 5, Sreerama Chandra made a name for himself as a replay singer in the Telugu film industry and also made his acting debut in the 2013 film Sri Jagadguru Aadi Sankara. She also played the lead role in Prema Geema Jantha Nai and appeared alongside Salman Khan in an advertisement.

Vipul mehta

This Punjabi singer took home the Indian Idol trophy in 2012. Since then, he has released a couple of singles, including Rowaan Mein (2012) and Vande Mataram – A Tribute to Soldiers (2015), an album – Hello Namaste Sat Sri Akal. in 2012 and also appeared as an actor in the 2019 Bollywood film Khandaani Shafakhana.

Anjana Padmanabhan

Anjana Padmanabhan was announced as the first Indian Idol Junior winner in 2013. What she has been doing since then is not made public to the media.

Ananya Sritam Nanda

Ananya Sritam Nanda followed Anjana and took home the trophy as the second winner of Indian Idol Junior. After winning the show, he released his debut album Mausam Mastana. She has made a name for herself as a replay singer and lent her voice to the Bollywood film MS Dhoni: The Untold Story, various Ollywood films such as Agastya, Baby (2016 film), Kathadeli Matha Chuin, and more. In 2019, she was featured on Rising Star and made the Top 5.

LV Revanth

After winning the show, the already well-known Telugu replay singer continued to impress everyone with his voice. His discography includes songs like Telisaney Na Nuvvey and Oopiri Aaguthunnadhey by Arjun Reddy, Manohari by Baahubali: The Beginning and more.

Salman ali

Since winning the Indian Idol 10 trophy, Salman Ali has made his Bollywood playing debut and has lent his voice to songs like Sab Badhiya Hai (Sui Dhaaga), Jai He (Satellite Shankar), Habibi Ke Nain (Dabangg 3) , Teri Meri Kahani. Remix (Happy Hardy and Heer) and more.

Sunny hindustani

The current winner of Indian Idol is Sunny Hindustani. Since her win, she has been credited as a replay singer in a couple of movies, including Panga (for the song Jugnu) and Bad Boy (Tere Nazar).

Going back to Indian Idol 12, who among the pawandeep Rajan, Shanmukha Priya, Mohd Danish, Sayli Kamble, Arunita Kanjilal and Nihal Tauro are you cheering on? Let us know in the comments below.

Must read: Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah: When ‘Dayaben’ Disha Vakani was tagged in vulgar posts and attacked trolls giving them one last warning

Follow us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *